Bleeder coming Nov. 2!

Bleeder is the third book in the “Behind the Mic Mysteries,” and will be released in e-book on Nov. 2, with the paperback book to follow shortly after.

KWLF-FM radio crime reporter Lisa Powers tackles the complicated subject of domestic violence; tries to solve a cold case of a murdered mom, but the killers find her first; and covers the trial of the cop shooter who also briefly held her hostage. In her podcast, “Art of the Steal,” there’s a dead gallery owner, a missing painting and lots of suspects. Purchase link coming soon.

Deadly Misfire online

Deadly Misfire, part of the ‘Tawnee Mountain Mysteries” by Short on Time Books, is now available on Amazon. KWLF-FM crime reporter Lisa Powers’ boss sends her to a radio news conference in New Jersey, in the dead of winter, and far away from her beloved crime beat in Arizona. She goes to the Tawnee Mountain Resort begrudgingly, afraid she’s going to miss a big story.

But at the convention, where she is up for an excellence in reporting award, an unknown stalker torments her for several days. When she takes the stage to learn the winner, the stalker antes up the stakes – with deadly force.

Check it out at, where you can also buy the whole series for under $20!

Dead Air now available

Dead Air Cover final lr

Dead Air, book #2 in the “Behind the Mic Mysteries,” is available in audiobook, paperback and e-book.

The second in the series of “Behind the Mic Mysteries,” our young radio crime reporter, Lisa Powers, covers a double cop shooting that tears the community apart. The cold case is a 15-year-old sexual assault involving a child, and Lisa is determined to help the now 19-year-old woman move forward in her life. Lisa’s “podcast,” which she writes at night for fun after covering gritty crime stories during the day, is a “film noir” style story of a 1940s private eye and a dame. Only L. N. Pane, P.I. is the dame and the gentleman seeks help finding out why someone is out to kill him.

An excerpt is on the Excerpt / Short Stories page on this website. Check it out!


Fade Out also available

Fade Out cover 6_edited 2X3A young radio reporter, Lisa Powers, covers the crime beat for her Chandler, AZ station. She helps the police department solve cold cases, and for fun, she writes and produces a mystery theatre podcast.

In Fade Out, book #1 in the “Behind the Mic Mysteries,” Lisa investigates the arson death of a prominent socialite, but finds herself threatened by a woman with a deadly knife; she helps a bereaved family look for a missing man; and in her “Murder in the Air Mystery Theatre” podcast, the “Frightful Fun House” isn’t so fun anymore when a young couple gets trapped inside with a dead body.

The Fade Out audiobook, complete with professional actors and sound effects in the podcast episodes, is also available at Amazon and Audible.


“Journalist/author Laurie Fagen uses her own background in print and on-air reporting to create Lisa Powers , a radio reporter who solves some of the crimes she covers – so murderers beware. What I found especially exciting was the wealth of insider information Fagen shares about the inner workings of radio newsrooms and podcasts. FADE OUT is a veritable gold mine of  a mystery.”

-Betty Webb, nationally best-selling author of “Desert Rage” and “The Puffin of Death.”
Fade Out is also available at Chandler public libraries; Dog-Eared Pages, Phoenix; Peregrine Book Company and Prescott Library, Prescott




Equalizer novella online

Equalizer coverA prequel novella, Equalizer, begins the “Behind the Mic Mysteries,” where a young radio reporter, Lisa Powers, covers the crime beat for her Chandler, AZ station. She helps the police department solve cold cases, and for fun, she writes and produces a mystery theatre podcast.

In Equalizer, Lisa reports on a shocking homicide that halts a white-collar money-laundering trial, but finds herself facing down the killer. She hunts for the murderer of a Jane Doe found in the desert decades ago that may have something to do with a Native American moccasin maker. And there’s a smell of death in her “Haunted Hallows” mystery theatre podcast, leading to yet another mystery to be solved.

This short story is what started Laurie Fagen’s series, and is available in e-book online at Amazon.